STD Testing in Columbia: Where to Get Tested, What It Costs and What to Expect
This page is general health information, not medical advice. It cannot tell you whether you have an infection. A clinician can, and the testing options on this site are a good place to start.
Getting tested for sexually transmitted infections is a routine part of health care. It is not a sign that something is wrong, and it is not a judgment about anyone. This guide walks through every testing route in Columbia, South Carolina, what a visit usually involves, what to ask for, and what the clinics say about cost.
It covers STD testing in Columbia, SC at the public health department, community health centers, Planned Parenthood, primary care and urgent care, and at-home options. It is written for people of every gender and orientation.
If you want the short list of local places first, the Columbia testing list has them in one place.
Key Takeaways
- Columbia has several routes to testing: the Richland County Health Department, CAN Community Health, PALSS, Cooperative Health, Planned Parenthood South Atlantic and AHF Healthcare Center.
- Two local clinics are listed as free for testing in the sources reviewed: PALSS (HIV, hepatitis and STI tests) and AHF Healthcare Center (HIV test). CAN Community Health lists free HIV testing and sliding-scale fees for other services.
- South Carolina residents age 17 or older can request a free HIV self-test by mail through the SC Department of Public Health (DPH) home testing program.
- Most clinics ask you to call ahead. Walk-in options exist, but hours change, so confirm by phone.
- A test only tells you about the infections it checks for, and some infections need a retest after a window period. A clinician can explain which tests fit your situation.
- Bacterial STIs and trichomoniasis are curable with treatment from a clinician. HIV, herpes and HPV are not curable, but they are treatable or manageable.
What This Guide Covers
- Why testing matters in Columbia
- Where to get tested in Columbia
- Primary care, urgent care and at-home options
- What a testing visit involves
- What is tested, what to ask for and window periods
- What testing costs
- Your rights, privacy and South Carolina law
- After your test: results, treatment and next steps
Why Testing Matters in Columbia
Many STIs cause no symptoms, or symptoms so mild they are easy to miss. That is why public health agencies recommend testing based on your age, body and sexual health history, not only on symptoms.
What national guidelines recommend
The CDC STI Treatment Guidelines (2021) and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) set out who should be offered screening. In plain terms:
- Chlamydia and gonorrhea: The CDC recommends yearly screening for sexually active women under 25, and for older women with risk factors such as a new partner or a partner with an STI. The CDC also recommends at least yearly screening for gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men, at each body site where sex occurs.
- HIV: The CDC recommends that everyone ages 13 to 64 be tested for HIV at least once, and more often if there are ongoing risks. The USPSTF recommends screening for people ages 15 to 65.
- Syphilis: The USPSTF recommends screening for people at increased risk and for everyone who is pregnant.
- Hepatitis C: The CDC recommends that adults be screened at least once, and pregnant people during each pregnancy.
A clinician can tell you which of these apply to you. The list above is a general guide, not a personal recommendation.
What the numbers look like locally
South Carolina data are published by the SC Department of Public Health and the CDC. The official county tables could not be read for this guide, so the figures below come from secondary sources that analyze CDC data. Treat them as a rough picture, not an exact count.
- A Stacker analysis of CDC county data reported 2021 rates in Richland County of 1,344.2 chlamydia cases per 100,000 people (5,623 cases) and 577.6 gonorrhea cases per 100,000 (2,416 cases). It also reported 22.9 cases of primary and secondary syphilis per 100,000 (96 cases).
- America's Health Rankings, using CDC AtlasPlus data, reported a 2023 statewide chlamydia rate of 612.1 per 100,000 in South Carolina.
- FITSNews, citing CDC 2023 data, reported a statewide gonorrhea rate of 222.4 per 100,000 and a primary and secondary syphilis rate of 17.3 per 100,000.
These numbers are counts of diagnosed and reported infections. They show that testing is common and routine here. They say nothing about any one person's risk. Current local numbers are available from SC DPH.
Where to Get Tested in Columbia
Below is every Columbia clinic reviewed for this guide, with the details each source publishes. Hours, fees and services can change, so confirm by phone before you go. The CDC also runs a testing locator at gettested.cdc.gov, where you can enter a ZIP code.
Richland County Health Department (SC DPH)
This is the public health department clinic. The address is 2000 Hampton St., Columbia, SC 29204. According to SC DPH, STD, HIV and hepatitis C services continue at this site. DPH has also said the department may later move to the former Columbia Place Mall site once Richland County finishes its Family Services Center.
DPH does not publish a clinic phone number, hours or fees on that page. To book an appointment, SC DPH lists its Care Line at 1-855-472-3432. The DPH main line is (803) 898-3300. The STD/HIV Hotline is 1-800-322-2437, and DPH also lists a Columbia number at (803) 898-0749. Ask about cost and walk-in times when you call, because they are not published.
CAN Community Health, Columbia
CAN Community Health is a nonprofit HIV, STI and community health provider at 1911 Hampton St., Columbia, SC 29201. The phone number is (803) 849-8430.
- Tests listed: HIV, chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis, herpes, hepatitis B, hepatitis C and trichomoniasis. Treatment is available on site.
- Cost: The clinic page advertises free testing, including free rapid and home HIV testing. It says it accepts Medicare, Medicaid and most insurance, and that sliding-scale fees and grant funding may be available.
- Hours: Monday to Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., and Friday 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. The clinic lists Thursday extended hours to 8 p.m. and Saturday 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on select dates only.
- Walk-ins: The clinic page says walk-ins are accepted during regular hours. A CDC directory listing says appointment required, so call first.
- Other services: PrEP, PEP, doxy-PEP, HPV vaccine and hepatitis C testing are listed.
PALSS (Palmetto AIDS Life Support Services)
PALSS is a nonprofit HIV and STI program at 2638 Two Notch Rd, Ste 108, Columbia, SC 29204. The phone number is (803) 779-7257.
- Tests listed: The CDC NPIN listing shows free HIV, hepatitis B, hepatitis C and STI tests.
- Cost: Free testing is listed. The listing also says a sliding scale and insurance or Medicaid are accepted, and that PrEP is available for people without insurance.
- Hours: The CDC NPIN listing shows Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., walk-in testing Tuesday 3 to 8 p.m. and Thursday 3 to 7 p.m., and walk-in only on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
- Note: A separate CDC GetTested listing says appointment required and gives no hours. Confirm hours by phone.
Planned Parenthood South Atlantic, Columbia Health Center
The health center is at 2712 Middleburg Dr, Ste 107, Columbia, SC 29204. The phone number is (803) 256-4908.
- Tests listed: Chlamydia, gonorrhea, hepatitis B, herpes, rapid HIV and syphilis, according to the CDC NPIN listing. PrEP, PEP, HPV vaccine and treatment are also listed.
- Cost: The listing says insurance and Medicaid are accepted. For people without coverage, it says to contact the center about eligibility. No prices are published in the listing.
- Hours: Monday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Tuesday 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Wednesday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Thursday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. The CDC listing notes that hours may change.
- Appointments: The listing says an appointment is required, and also that you are welcome to walk in during open hours to book or ask about same-day availability.
Cooperative Health (federally qualified health center)
Cooperative Health has two locations at 1228 Harden St., Columbia, SC 29204 in the Five Points area. Both list a sliding scale and accept insurance, Medicaid and Medicare, according to CDC GetTested.
- Waverly Family Practice (Suite C): Phone (803) 748-1181 or toll-free (866) 405-9438. CDC GetTested lists HIV tests (rapid and blood draw), hepatitis C, chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis tests, with free HIV and hepatitis C tests. Appointment required. HPV vaccine is also listed.
- Five Points Walk-In Center (Suite A): Phone (803) 722-1565. CDC GetTested lists HIV (blood draw), hepatitis C, chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis tests, and lists no appointment required. Hours are not published on the CDC page, so call to confirm.
AHF Healthcare Center, Columbia
AIDS Healthcare Foundation runs a center at 4100 N Main St, Suite 102, Columbia, SC 29203. The phone number is (803) 223-9895. CDC GetTested lists rapid HIV, chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis tests, a free HIV test, and a mpox vaccine. It says appointment required and gives no hours. For eligibility for the other tests, contact the center.
Quick comparison
| Clinic | Cost as published | Walk-in as published | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Richland County Health Department | Not stated | Not stated | 1-855-472-3432 (DPH Care Line) |
| CAN Community Health | Free testing listed; sliding scale | Yes, during regular hours | (803) 849-8430 |
| PALSS | Free tests listed; sliding scale | Yes, on listed days | (803) 779-7257 |
| Planned Parenthood South Atlantic | Insurance and Medicaid; contact for eligibility | Walk in to book or ask about same-day | (803) 256-4908 |
| Cooperative Health, Suite C | Sliding scale; free HIV and hepatitis C tests | No, appointment required | (803) 748-1181 |
| Cooperative Health, Suite A | Sliding scale | Yes, listed as no appointment required | (803) 722-1565 |
| AHF Healthcare Center | Free HIV test listed | No, appointment required | (803) 223-9895 |
Primary Care, Urgent Care and At-Home Options
Your own primary care clinician
If you have a regular doctor, nurse practitioner or physician assistant, you can ask them for STI testing at a routine visit. You do not need to bring a symptom. Many people find it easiest to say, "I would like to be screened for STIs. What do you recommend for me?" Coverage and cost depend on your plan, so ask the office or your insurer before the visit.
Urgent care
Some urgent care centers offer STI testing, especially when you have symptoms. This guide did not verify any specific Columbia urgent care center, so it does not list one. Call ahead and ask which tests they run, whether results come back quickly, and what the visit costs without insurance. Public clinics may be a better fit if cost is the main concern.
Free HIV self-tests from SC DPH
SC DPH runs an In-Home HIV Testing Program. According to DPH, South Carolina residents age 17 or older can request a free OraQuick HIV self-test, one kit every 90 days, through an online survey. Questions can go to [email protected] or 1-800-322-2437. CAN Community Health also lists free home HIV testing on its clinic page.
At-home kits for other STIs
The DPH sources reviewed for this guide do not list a free at-home kit for infections other than HIV. If you are considering a mail-in kit from any company, ask a clinician whether it fits your situation and who will help you if a result is positive. This guide does not recommend any brand.
Using a home HIV test well
- Follow the instructions that come in the box exactly.
- Know the window period (explained below). A test taken too soon after a possible exposure may not detect HIV.
- A positive home result needs follow-up testing with a clinician. The CDC says a follow-up test is needed to confirm.
- You can call the DPH hotline at 1-800-322-2437 with questions.
What a Testing Visit Involves
Most people are surprised by how quick and ordinary the visit feels. Here is the usual flow. Each clinic may differ a little.
Before you go
- Call to ask whether you need an appointment, what to bring, and what the visit costs.
- Bring photo ID and your insurance card if you have one. If you do not have insurance, say so when you call and ask about free or sliding-scale options.
- If you have symptoms, tell the clinic when you book. It may change which visit type is best.
At the visit
- Check-in and paperwork. You will give your contact details and basic health history.
- A private conversation. A clinician or counselor asks about your recent partners, the kind of sex you have, protection you use, and any symptoms. These questions are medical, not personal judgments. Honest answers help them choose the right tests.
- Sample collection. Depending on what is tested, this may be a urine sample, a swab (sometimes one you collect yourself), a finger stick, or a blood draw. Swabs may be taken from the throat, genitals or rectum depending on the kind of sex you have.
- Results plan. The clinic tells you how and when results arrive. Rapid HIV tests can give a result during the visit. Other tests may take days.
If you want to bring someone
Many people bring a partner or friend. It is fine to ask the clinic whether that is allowed in the exam area. You can also go alone.
What Is Tested, What to Ask For and Window Periods
Testing is not automatic for everything
A common myth is that a routine checkup includes a full STI panel. It often does not. Which tests are run depends on the clinic, your age, your history and what you ask for. The simplest approach is to ask directly.
Questions worth asking
- Which infections will you test me for today?
- Do I need swabs from my throat or rectum based on the kind of sex I have?
- Is hepatitis B or hepatitis C testing included, or should I ask for it?
- Are herpes tests recommended in my situation?
- When will I need to be retested?
- Should I ask about PrEP, PEP, doxy-PEP or the HPV vaccine?
Herpes and HPV testing
The CDC does not recommend routine herpes blood testing for people with no symptoms, because results can be hard to interpret. A clinician can explain whether a herpes test makes sense for you, and can test a sore if you have one. For HPV, screening works differently: cervical screening is done on the cervix, and there is no routine HPV test for most other people. A clinician can explain what applies to you.
Window periods
A window period is the time between exposure and when a test can reliably detect an infection. If you test inside the window, a negative result may not be the final answer. The CDC publishes HIV window periods:
- Nucleic acid tests (NAT): usually detect HIV 10 to 33 days after exposure.
- Antigen/antibody tests done in a lab on a blood draw: usually detect HIV 18 to 45 days after exposure.
- Rapid antigen/antibody tests from a finger stick: can take 18 to 90 days.
- Antibody tests, including home self-tests: can take 23 to 90 days.
For other infections, window periods vary by infection and by test. Ask the clinician what timing applies to you. The CDC also recommends retesting about three months after treatment for chlamydia, gonorrhea and trichomoniasis, because reinfection is common. A clinician can explain how this applies to you.
Testing after a recent exposure
If you think you were exposed to HIV within the last 72 hours, ask a clinician right away about PEP (post-exposure prophylaxis), which is prescribed by a clinician and works best when started quickly, according to the CDC. CAN Community Health, Planned Parenthood South Atlantic and PALSS list related services. Call the clinic or the DPH STD/HIV Hotline at 1-800-322-2437 to ask what is available.
Prevention options to ask about
- PrEP: A clinician-prescribed medicine that lowers the chance of getting HIV. SC DPH maintains a PrEP page with a provider directory, navigation and telemedicine resources, and notes that most insurance and Medicaid cover PrEP.
- Doxy-PEP: In 2024 the CDC issued guidance that clinicians should discuss doxycycline taken after sex with gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men, and transgender women, who have had a bacterial STI in the past year. It is only available by prescription, and a clinician decides whether it is right for you. CAN Community Health and PALSS list doxy-PEP among their services.
- HPV vaccine: Listed at Planned Parenthood South Atlantic, CAN Community Health and Cooperative Health (Waverly).
What Testing Costs
Here is the honest answer: most Columbia clinics do not publish a price list. What they do publish is who they accept and whether testing is free.
What the sources say
- Free: PALSS lists free HIV, hepatitis B, hepatitis C and STI tests (CDC NPIN). AHF Healthcare Center lists a free HIV test (CDC GetTested). CAN Community Health advertises free testing and free rapid and home HIV testing. Cooperative Health lists free HIV and hepatitis C tests at its Waverly site.
- Sliding scale: CAN Community Health, PALSS and both Cooperative Health sites list sliding-scale fees, meaning the cost is based on income.
- Insurance: CAN Community Health accepts Medicare, Medicaid and most insurance. Cooperative Health accepts insurance, Medicaid and Medicare. Planned Parenthood South Atlantic accepts insurance and Medicaid.
- Not published: The Richland County Health Department page does not list fees. Planned Parenthood's listing asks you to contact the center about eligibility and gives no prices.
Because no clinic here publishes a dollar range, this guide does not give one. Ask for the cost before the visit, and ask whether it is different for each test. SC DPH also mentioned free STD and HIV testing days at most local health department clinics on one past date. The year was not shown, so check with DPH for any current event.
Ways to lower the cost
- Ask whether the clinic offers free testing for your situation.
- Ask about sliding-scale fees and what documents they need.
- If you have insurance, ask whether a visit for screening has a copay.
- Use the free DPH HIV self-test if you are 17 or older and live in South Carolina.
- Ask whether a lab bills separately from the clinic.
Your Rights, Privacy and South Carolina Law
Minors and consent
South Carolina has no STD-specific minor consent statute that could be confirmed. However, S.C. Code Ann. § 63-5-350 says health services of any kind may be given to minors of any age without parent or guardian consent when an authorized provider considers them necessary, with exceptions for surgery. Section 63-5-340 covers consent by minors 16 and older. The Guttmacher Institute lists South Carolina as allowing minors to consent to STI testing and treatment. Clinics have their own policies, so ask before you go. The DPH home HIV test program is limited to ages 17 and older.
Partner treatment
Expedited partner therapy (EPT) lets a clinician give treatment for a partner without first examining the partner. South Carolina has no EPT-specific statute. According to the CDC's legal status page, the SC Board of Medical Examiners interprets S.C. Code Ann. § 40-47-113(B) to allow EPT for chlamydia and gonorrhea. The current wording of the board's statement could not be confirmed, so ask a clinician what applies.
Reporting
Under S.C. Code Ann. § 44-29-10, physicians must report certain infectious diseases on the DPH list to the county health department. Some STIs are reportable. Reporting is for public health tracking and partner services, and the DPH list itself was not available for this guide, so ask the clinic which infections are reported.
Pregnancy
S.C. Code Ann. § 44-29-120 requires a physician attending a pregnant woman to take a blood sample at the first examination, or within three days after, and test it for syphilis, rubella, Rh factor and hemoglobin. A person can be exempt by sworn affidavit of religious objection. This section does not list a later syphilis test. The CDC and USPSTF recommend syphilis screening in pregnancy, so ask your prenatal clinician about the timing of testing.
HIV and disclosure law
S.C. Code Ann. § 44-29-145 makes it a felony for a person who knows they have HIV to have sex without first telling the partner, or to share needles or donate blood or organs without warning. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, and a summary of the section also lists up to 10 years in prison. Separately, § 44-29-60 makes it unlawful to knowingly expose another person to a reportable STD. If you have questions about how these laws apply, a clinic counselor or the DPH STD/HIV Hotline at 1-800-322-2437 can point you to the right resource.
After Your Test: Results, Treatment and Next Steps
Getting results
Ask how results will reach you: phone call, patient portal or a return visit. Make sure the clinic has a number where you are comfortable being reached. Ask what happens if you miss the call.
If a result is positive
A positive result is a medical finding. It is not a verdict on you. The next step is to talk with a clinician about treatment and about telling partners.
- Chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis and trichomoniasis are curable with treatment prescribed by a clinician. Take any medicine exactly as your clinician directs.
- HIV is not curable, but it is treatable. According to the CDC, treatment can keep the virus at very low levels and help people stay healthy.
- Herpes and HPV are not curable but are manageable. A clinician can explain options for symptoms and for lowering the chance of passing them on.
CAN Community Health, Planned Parenthood South Atlantic and PALSS list treatment as a service. For other results, ask the testing clinic where treatment is available.
Telling partners
Telling partners can feel hard. Clinic staff and the DPH hotline can help you plan the conversation, and in some cases help notify partners without using your name. Partners can then get tested and treated too, which also protects you from being reinfected.
If your result is negative
A negative result means the test did not find the infections it checked for. It does not cover infections that were not tested, and it may not be final if you tested inside a window period. Ask the clinician whether and when to retest. Many clinicians suggest regular screening if your situation does not change.
Making testing a habit
- Ask your clinician how often screening makes sense for you.
- Test again after a new partner or when a partner tells you they tested positive for something.
- Keep a note of your last test date and which infections were included.
- Ask about vaccines that prevent infection, including HPV and hepatitis B.
Your Next Step
Pick the route that fits your schedule and budget. Call a clinic from the list above, request a free home HIV test from SC DPH, or use gettested.cdc.gov to find more options by ZIP code. If you are unsure where to start, call the SC DPH STD/HIV Hotline at 1-800-322-2437, or the DPH Care Line at 1-855-472-3432 to book at a health department. Free and low-cost testing exists in Columbia, and the visit is usually shorter than people expect.
Sources
- CDC, Sexually Transmitted Infections Treatment Guidelines, 2021
- CDC, HIV Testing
- CDC GetTested, testing locator
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
- CDC, Legal Status of EPT in South Carolina
- SC Department of Public Health, Sexually Transmitted Diseases
- SC DPH, About Our Headquarters
- SC DPH, Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP)
- SC DPH, Home HIV Testing Program
- South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 63, Chapter 5 (minors' consent)
- South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 44, Chapter 29 (sections 44-29-10, 44-29-60, 44-29-120, 44-29-145)
- Guttmacher Institute, Minors' Access to STI Services
- CDC NPIN, Planned Parenthood South Atlantic, Columbia Health Center
- CDC NPIN, PALSS
- CAN Community Health, Columbia, SC
- CDC GetTested, Cooperative Health (Waverly Family Practice)
- CDC GetTested, Cooperative Health (Five Points Walk-In Center)
- CDC GetTested, AHF Healthcare Center, Columbia
- Stacker, analysis of CDC county STI data (secondary source)
- America's Health Rankings, Chlamydia, South Carolina
- FITSNews, Nov. 25, 2024, citing CDC 2023 data (secondary source)